Brilliant 16 year old survivor tells us what helped her overcome sex trafficking

22 Mar

Tina Frundt, founder of Courtney's House, which helps trafficked youth, trafficking, prostitution, child sex trafficking, exploitation, love, warmth, sex trafficking survivors united

I just read a powerful piece by a 16-year old sex-trafficking survivor named Linda  She’s writing about what helped her overcome sex trafficking:  Courtney’s House and it’s founder, my dear friend and sister survivor Tina Frundt.  Linda is brilliant — look at how wonderfully she writes!  She’s going places.  This makes me so happy I just had to share it with you.   This young lady has endured more terrible things than most people experience in a life time, and she’s transformed it into strength and grace.  She’s trying to get people to vote for Tina for the Diane Von Furstenberg awards, so Courtney’s house can win $50,000 to help more survivors.  Please join me in reading Linda’s beautiful words and celebrating her big voice.  Please vote for Tina Frundt, one of the most trusted and beloved survivor advocates in the world.

BY: LINDA AGE 16YRS

Not everybody knows what some teens go through nowadays. Sex trafficking happens because of various reasons. We as teens want the warmth of a loving family and protective parents. If we don’t get what we were born to deserve we look for love and affection from others, but some people take that for granted because as a young child we are easily manipulated.

Thanks to women like Tina Frundt there is so much support given to young girls & boys that have experienced sex trafficking. Tina Frundt has a program that is named Courtney’s House. This is a great support system because whatever you need they are there! And if you need to talk, someone is always available. Tina has dedicated her life to this cause to help sex trafficking survivors out in the streets. Having the help of somebody who lived the same thing you went through is important to help guide you, because there is so much to understand. Understanding each other brings a big bond between Tina and the rest of the girls & boys.

I am very happy that I came to Courtney’s House and realized that there was nothing to be afraid of. I was afraid to live my own life, and I was very anti-social in a way because I was so used to keeping my guard up all the time. Being trafficked impacted me so greatly that all I cared about was money and getting the day over with. Things seemed endless to me every day of my life. I didn’t want to give myself up, and I was afraid to get arrested or killed. I became part of Courtney’s House after everything not just because the program was there; I also felt lonely and thought that nobody ever experienced what I had been through. But thanks to supportive people helping me find Courtney’s House, I was able to become part of the family.

Ever since then, my life changed drastically and it feels so good to talk freely about things that went wrong.  Even from this day it still hurts within me, but I thank God he put TINA in my life because she is a wonderful woman that I look up to. She will ALWAYS inspire me; things in life aren’t impossible when you have people supporting you always!! These are words purely from the bottom of my heart!!

SO PLEASE VOTE FOR TINA, BECAUSE THAT MEANS YOU ARE HELPING SURVIVORS LIKE ME!! HTTP://DVFAWARDS.COM/

 Read this wonderful post here.

11 Responses to “Brilliant 16 year old survivor tells us what helped her overcome sex trafficking”

  1. Jueseppi B. March 22, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Riveting story, Thank you Ms. Stella Marr.

    • stellamarr March 22, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      Thank you Mr. Jueseppi B — so appreciate you reblogging Linda’s wonderful writing :-)

      • Jueseppi B. March 23, 2013 at 12:30 am #

        You stand for a vitally important issue Ms. Marr. ❀ Namaste ❀

  2. kayfreshmanenglish March 22, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    It was very helpful to me to read this and also your interview. I have oftenvwondered why I am drawn to the stories of others who have been abused. I think its true we share a fellowship and warmth.

    On another note, it’s appalling that financial aid is denied to people who have been arrested for drug posession. That has to be a civil rights issue.

  3. Soul Survivor March 23, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    It’s wonderful to see the fresh young voice of a teen restored, when things could have gone very much a different way without Courtney’s house. And I especially want to congratulate Linda for her courage in taking the difficult steps to walk out of the life she had been enslaved to, and choosing freedom for herself. It’s so hard to do that, even when the resources are there. I’m grateful to Tina for holding out a rescuing hand, and cheering for Linda for grabbing hold of it and hanging on.

  4. Sandra Bell Kirchman March 25, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    I went right away to the voting area after reading this to vote for Tina. However, it says that the voting is closed. Wishing good luck to Tina!

    • stellamarr March 26, 2013 at 7:46 am #

      Thank you for your support xoxo. Tina is AWESOME — so appreciate you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 16 year old sex trafficking survivor tells how Courtney’s House helped her overcome | Sex Trafficking Survivors United - March 22, 2013

    [...] transformed it into strength and grace.  She’s trying to get people to vote for Tina for theDiane Von Furstenberg awards, so Courtney’s house can win $50,000 to help more like her.  Please join me in reading [...]

  2. Don’t listen to me just listen to someone who knows! | slavedetective - March 26, 2013

    [...] Brilliant 16 year old survivor tells us what helped her overcome sex trafficking [...]

  3. After 17 years being trafficked in prostitution she went blind while pregnant: Extraordinary survivor writer Christine McDonald | Sex Trafficking Survivors United - April 26, 2013

    [...] Brilliant 16 year old survivor tells us what helped her overcome sex trafficking (secretlifeofamanhattancallgirl.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. After 17 years being trafficked in prostitution she went blind while pregnant: Extraordinary survivor writer Christine McDonald | My Body the City: The Secret Life of a Callgirl - April 26, 2013

    [...] Brilliant 16 year old survivor tells us what helped her overcome sex trafficking(secretlifeofamanhattancallgirl.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

